Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra blends traditional storytelling with new symphonic music in stunning children’s production

The World premiere took place on September 10th at Konserthuset Play

Merregnon: Land of Silence is a concert video production designed to introduce families and children to the wonder of the orchestral sound. Performed through narration, music and beautiful illustrations, the symphonic fairy tale follows the story of orphan Miru and builds on the tradition of timeless classics like Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf.

Exclusive music is provided by acclaimed composer Yoko Shimomura, known for her work on multi- million selling video games Kingdom Hearts and Final Fantasy XV. The score demonstrates a lavish diversity of sound and displays the various orchestral sections and soloists. The story has been written by celebrated German children’s author Frauke Angel.

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra is proud to present the world premiere of Merregnon: Land of Silence. The orchestra pioneered the performance of music by video game composers in 2006, and has since enjoyed over a decade of sold-out concerts and fruitful collaborations with some of the finest composers of the genre, as well as numerous projects with Merregnon producer Thomas Böcker. The newly composed Merregnon: Land of Silence marries this trailblazing approach with the orchestra’s long-time commitment to the next generation, and complements its distinguished educational offering, which includes regular school and family concerts, field trips and masterclasses.

Yoko Shimomura, Composer

“It’s a great honour to be asked to compose for an orchestra, and I’m particularly pleased and excited to be involved in the Merregnon: Land of Silence project,” says composer Yoko Shimomura. “Creating something that children and young people will enjoy is a rewarding challenge, and together with the charming story and beautiful artwork I hope we will inspire a brand new generation of orchestral and classical music fans.”

Thomas Böcker, Producer

“It has always been a goal of my work as a producer to convey the beauty and power of orchestras,” explains Merregnon Studios’ founder and creator of the show, Thomas Böcker. “I’m fortunate to have had the creative help of some of the most talented individuals from the worlds of music, art and storytelling, and I’m indebted to the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra for the faith it has shown in actively seeking to premiere Merregnon: Land of Silence.

Stefan Forsberg, Executive and Artistic Director

“We are immensely proud to present the world premiere of Merregnon: Land of Silence,” comments Stefan Forsberg, Executive and Artistic Director of Konserthuset Stockholm and Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. “It’s a joy that the music is composed by Yoko Shimomura. She is one of the most renowned composers in the world of gaming music and we have performed her works in recent years. We firmly believe that the aesthetics of her music can introduce a new audience to orchestral music, no matter the medium.”

— ENDS —

Notes to Editors

Press release


The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra 

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1902 and Konserthuset Stockholm has been its home since 1926. Noted for its ambitious programming, composer festivals with contemporary music and pioneering work on a more gender balanced repertoire, the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra is very much present in today’s music life. The orchestra participates in the festivities associated with the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony.

Regular guest conductors include notable names such as Riccardo Muti, Andris Nelsons, Herbert Blomstedt, Nathalie Stutzmann, Franz Welser-Möst and Conductor Laureates Alan Gilbert and Sakari Oramo. The latter concluded his tenure as Chief Conductor in spring 2021.

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra has received considerable attention for several recordings. Among them the Carl Nielsen’s symphonies with Sakari Oramo – BBC Music Magazine Award 2016.

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra is today among the most active streaming players worldwide. With its digital platform Konserthuset Play, the orchestra offers a comprehensive library of filmed performances which are available for free streaming anywhere in the world. The collection includes orchestral music, chamber music and jazz as well as productions for families and schools.